Chunqing Huang
Painter’s Portrait II

Editor(s)

Galerie Kornfeld Berlin

Author(s)

Mark Gisbourne, Tilman Treusch, Dorothea Zwirner

Design

Book Book, Berlin

Cover

Softcover

Size

24 x 30 cm

Pages

80

Illustrations

33

Language(s)

German, English

ISBN

978-3-96912-081-1

The artist Chunqing Huang’s (b. Heze, China, 1974) Painters’ Portraits are anything but conventional likenesses. The portraits of artists including Louise Bourgeois, Anselm Kiefer, Martin Kippenberger and Imi Knoebel are acts of gestural-expressive abstraction and probing visual studies of the artist’s own recollections. Chunqing Huang paints meditations on art itself, systematically working through the vocabulary of abstract painting from Germany to the United States. The series Painter’s Portrait II features Chunqing Huang’s thirty most recent works from a series the artist has been transferring to canvases measuring 40 x 30 cm since 2016.

Painter’s Portrait II represents Chunqing Huang’s personal reflections on her influences, from Impressionism to expressive tendencies in abstract painting, which now make its début in book form. The catalogue showcases the portraits, each of which is distinguished by its own gestural quality and individual palette.

Chunqing Huang studied painting and interdisciplinary art at the Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main, where Wolfgang Tillmans and Peter Angermann were her teachers, and graduated from Hermann Nitsch’s master class. The German-Chinese artist’s work has been featured in numerous solo and group exhibitions. A first selection from the Painter’s Portrait series was on view at Kunsthalle Wiesbaden and Museum Wiesbaden in the summer of 2021; the catalogue Painter’s Portrait II is released in conjunction with her exhibition of the same title at 68projects, Berlin.

Shopping cart
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
B.A.R.O.C.K.24,80
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
-
+
Subtotal
2.469,90
Total
2.469,90

Chunqing Huang
Painter’s Portrait II

Herausgeber

Galerie Kornfeld Berlin

Autor(en)

Mark Gisbourne, Tilman Treusch, Dorothea Zwirner

Gestaltung

Book Book, Berlin

Umschlag

Broschur

Maße

24 x 30 cm

Seitenzahl

80

Abbildungen

33

Sprache(n)

Deutsch, Englisch

ISBN

978-3-96912-081-1

Die Painter’s Portraits der Künstlerin Chunqing Huang (geb. 1974 in Heze, China) sind keine Abbilder. Die Maler:innenporträts von Künstler:innen wie Louise Bourgeois, Anselm Kiefer, Martin Kippenberger oder Imi Knoebel sind Akte gestisch-expressiver Abstraktion, künstlerische Studien der eigenen Erinnerung. Chunqing Huang schafft mit ihren Gemälden Bilder über die Kunst selbst, indem sie das Vokabular abstrakter Malerei von Deutschland bis in die USA durchexerziert. Die Serie Painter’s Portrait II zeigt die dreißig neusten Arbeiten Chunqing Huangs aus einer Werkgruppe, die die Künstlerin seit 2016 auf 40 x 30 cm große Leinwände überführt.

Painter’s Portrait II ist eine persönliche Reflexion Chunqing Huangs über ihre Einflüsse vom Impressionismus bis hin zu expressiven Strömungen abstrakter Malerei, die nun erstmals auch in Buchform erscheint. Auf 80 Seiten präsentiert der Katalog die Porträts mit ihrem jeweils ganz eigenen Gestus und individuellen Farbklang.

Chunqing Huang studierte freie Malerei und interdisziplinäre Kunst an der Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main bei Wolfgang Tillmans, Peter Angermann und als Meisterschülerin bei Hermann Nitsch. Die Arbeiten der deutsch-chinesischen Künstlerin wurden in verschiedenen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen präsentiert. Ein erster Teil der Serie Painter’s Portrait wurde im Sommer 2021 in der Kunsthalle Wiesbaden und im Museum Wiesbaden ausgestellt, der Katalog Painter’s Portrait II erscheint begleitend zur gleichnamigen Ausstellung bei 68projects in Berlin.

Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!