wolfgang thiel
skulpturale standpunkte

Author(s)

Ulo Simon

Design

Hans-Ulrich Simon, Wolfgang Thiel

Size

31 x 25 cm

Cover

Hardcover

Pages

148

Illustrations

272

Language(s)

German

ISBN

978-3-96912-111-5

Release January 2023

Wolfgang Thiel (b. Zweibrücken, 1952; lives and works in Plochingen) is a sculptor who makes figurative work. He is especially interested in the southern German tradition of colorfully painted sculpture, which he seeks to bring into the twenty-first century. His experimental handling of various genres and materials suggests a researcher’s mind. Switching between different materials is key to Thiel’s approach because their particular characteristics demand his constant attention. Å playful aspect is essential to all his works, which include large-format sculptures in public settings (more than thirty have been installed in Germany) as well as sculptural garden landscapes, stage designs, and costumes.

The opulent wide-format book containing almost three hundred illustrations offers a representative overview of Wolfgang Thiel’s oeuvre and includes the first complete chronological catalogue raisonné of his works in wood.

Wolfgang Thiel studied at the Stuttgart State Academy of Art and Design from 1970 until 1976 and later taught at his alma mater from 1987 until 1991. From 2008 until 2018, he held a teaching position at the Hochschule für Technik Stuttgart. In 1990, he won the Art Award of the City of Stuttgart. Since 1977, Thiel’s work has been showcased in numerous solo exhibitions in Switzerland, France, and Germany.

Release January 2023

Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!

wolfgang thiel
skulpturalestandpunkte

Autor(en)

Ulo Simon

Gestaltung

Hans-Ulrich Simon, Wolfgang Thiel

Maße

31 x 25 cm

Umschlag

Hardcover

Seitenzahl

148

Abbildungen

272

Sprache(n)

Deutsch

ISBN

978-3-96912-111-5

Erscheint Januar 2023

Wolfgang Thiel (geb. 1952 in Zweibrücken, lebt und arbeitet in Plochingen) ist ein figurativ arbeitender Bildhauer. Sein besonderes Interesse gilt der süddeutschen Tradition farbig gefasster Skulpturen, die er versucht, in unsere Gegenwart zu übersetzen. Sein experimenteller Umgang mit den verschiedenen Genres und Materialien ist der eines Forschers. Der Wechsel zwischen verschiedenen Materialien ist Thiel besonders wichtig, da er ihm immer wieder neue Aufmerksamkeit abverlangt. Der spielerische Aspekt ist das Wesentliche in allen seinen Arbeiten, zu denen neben großformatigen Plastiken im öffentlichen Raum (davon über 30 in Deutschland) auch skulpturale Gartenlandschaften sowie Bühnenbilder und Kostüme gehören.

Das opulente querformatige Buch bietet in fast 300 Abbildungen einen repräsentativen Überblick über das Werk von Wolfgang Thiel sowie erstmalig ein vollständiges chronologisches Verzeichnis seiner Arbeiten in Holz.

Wolfgang Thiel studierte 1970–1976 an der Staatlichen Akademie der Bildenden Künste Stuttgart, wo er 1987–1991 einen Lehrauftrag innehatte. 2008–2018 unterrichtete er an der Hochschule für Technik Stuttgart. 1990 erhielt er den Kunstpreis der Stadt Stuttgart. Seit 1977 wurden Thiel zahlreiche Einzelausstellungen in der Schweiz, Frankreich und Deutschland ausgerichtet.

Erscheint Januar 2023

Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!