Slawomir Elsner
Precision and Chance

Editor(s)

Andreas Henning, Lea Schäfer, Museum Wiesbaden

Author(s)

Anne-Marie Bonnet, Andreas Henning, Nikolas Werner Jacobs, Nils Ohlsen, Lea Schäfer

Design

Margarethe Hausstätter ExtraGestaltung

Cover

Hardcover

Size

22,5 x 28,5 cm

Pages

144

Illustrations

397

Language(s)

German, English

ISBN

978-3-96912-061-3

Complex Processes of Abstraction

International audiences know Sławomir Elsner (b. Wodzisław Śląski, Poland, 1976; lives and works in Berlin) for his naturalistic paintings and abstract watercolors, but it was his brilliantly executed colorful drawings that made him famous. The technique of his work in crayons is as formidable as it is singular and underlies his many adaptations of legendary works from the history of painting that seem blurry but are actually drawn in accurate lines.

More generally, Elsner’s art probes the effect of different media and the stories they tell. He interrogates the images they transport and challenges the consumers to subject their own visual experiences to a similar critical review. Do pictures represent reality or distort it? That is the question that guides his inquiries.

Elsner works almost exclusively in series. What makes this book special is that it includes an index in which eleven of these bodies of work are reproduced in their entirety. The Old Masters series alone comprises 143 works made in the years after 2014. It is complemented by the series Windows on the World (2008–2010), Feuerwerk- und Luftabwehr (2004), Unsere Sonnen (2004–2005), the watercolors of Tagstücke and Nachtstücke (2014–2021), and others.

Many of the works frame accidents, disasters, wars, nuclear tests, or other horrible events. By harnessing the means of art to detach their depiction from a documentary setting, Sławomir Elsner achieves an unrivaled degree of aestheticization; his works are fascinating at first glance, only to fill the beholder with a creeping dread.

Limited art edition available

Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!

SLAWOMIR ELSNER
PRÄZISION UND UNSCHÄRFE

Autor(en)

Anne-Marie Bonnet, Andreas Henning, Nikolas Werner Jacobs, Nils Ohlsen, Lea Schäfer

Gestaltung

Margarethe Hausstätter ExtraGestaltung

Umschlag

Hardcover

Maße

22,5 x 28,5 cm

Seitenzahl

144

Abbildungen

397

Sprache(n)

Deutsch, Englisch

ISBN

978-3-96912-061-3

Erscheint Dezember 2021

Vielschichtige Abstraktionsprozesse

Sławomir Elsner (geb. 1976 in Loslau, Polen, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) ist international für seine naturalistische Malerei und seine abstrakten Aquarelle bekannt, berühmt aber wurde er mit seinen virtuosen farbigen Zeichnungen. Seine mit Buntstiften ausgeführte Technik ist so beeindruckend wie einmalig, in ihr hat er zahlreiche Adaptionen von legendären Gemälden der Kunstgeschichte gemacht, die zwar unscharf wirken, aber in präzisen Linien gezeichnet sind.

Generell beschäftigt sich Elsner in seinem Werk mit der Wirkung unterschiedlicher Medien und den von ihnen erzählten Geschichten. Er hinterfragt die dort gezeigten Bilder und ihr Konsument soll ebenfalls seine Seherfahrungen kritisch prüfen. Dabei geht er der Frage nach, ob Abbildungen die Wirklichkeit wiedergeben oder sie deformieren.

Elsner produziert fast ausschließlich in Serien. Das Besondere an diesem Buch ist, dass darin elf dieser Serien in einem Index komplett abgedruckt sind. Allein die Reihe nach den alten Meistern umfasst 143 Arbeiten, die ab 2014 entstanden sind. Dazu kommen die Serien Windows on the World (2008–2010), Feuerwerk- und Luftabwehr (2004), Unsere Sonnen (2004–2005), die Aquarelle Tagstücke und Nachtstücke (2014–2021) und andere.

Viele der Arbeiten thematisieren Unglücke, Katastrophen, Kriege, Atomtests oder andere schreckliche Ereignisse. Durch die künstlerische Herauslösung ihrer Ansichten aus einem dokumentarischen Zusammenhang erreicht Sławomir Elsner das Höchstmaß einer Ästhetisierung, die den Betrachter zunächst fasziniert und danach umso mehr erschaudern lässt.

Erscheint Dezember 2021

Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!