MS 00 22
Michael Sailstorfer – Works 2000–2022

Editor(s)

Michael Sailstorfer

Author(s)

Johanna Adam, Maria Bremer, Kris Douglas, Bernd Euler, Lukas Feireiss, Friedrich Gräfling, Johanna Gräfling, Sigurd Larsen, Magdalena Mai, Frank Steinhofer, Neville Wakefield

Design

Heimann + Schwantes

Cover

Clothbound hardcover

Size

24 x 30 cm

Pages

320

Illustrations

450

Language(s)

German, English

ISBN

MS 00 22 – Michael Sailstorfer: Works 2000–2022

Michael Sailstorfer (b. Velden/Vils, Germany, 1979; lives and works in Berlin) is one of the most renowned German sculptors and object artists of his generation. His sculptural creations, which often require extensive planning and complex production processes, are the results of reflections on and reinterpretations of everyday objects: intriguing, bizarre, and sometimes humorous experimental arrangements and artifacts that interact with their environments, create spaces, or self-deconstruct. These transformative processes combine conceptual depth with poetic allure and tell stories of the passage of time and disintegration. Many of Sailstorfer’s installations depend on the beholder’s active engagement for their effect. He typically documents his sculptural experiments with the camera and later shares them with the public in the form of videos or photographs.

The extensive monograph MS 00 22 presents the most important works from Sailstorfer’s creative career. Formally diverse writings and conversations with the artist offer profound insight into his practice.

Michael Sailstorfer studied with Olaf Metzel at the Munich Academy of Fine Arts from 1999 until 2005 and at Goldsmiths College, London, in 2004–05. He has won a number of art awards, including the Kunstpreis junger westen (2011) and the Vattenfall Contemporary (2012). Selected solo exhibitions: Schirn Kunsthalle, Frankfurt (2007); Kestnergesellschaft, Hannover (2010); Kunsthalle Nürnberg (2011); Contemporary Arts Center, Cincinnati, Ohio (2014).

Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!

MS 00 22
Michael Sailstorfer, Works 2000–2022

Herausgeber

Michael Sailstorfer

Autor(en)

Johanna Adam, Maria Bremer, Kris Douglas, Bernd Euler, Lukas Feireiss, Friedrich Gräfling, Johanna Gräfling, Sigurd Larsen, Magdalena Mai, Frank Steinhofer, Neville Wakefield

Gestaltung

Heimann + Schwantes

Maße

24 x 30 cm

Umschlag

Hardcover in Leinen

Seitenzahl

320

Abbildungen

450

Erscheint November 2022

MS 00 22 – Michael Sailstorfer: Works 2000–2022

Michael Sailstorfer (geb. 1979 in Velden/Vils, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) ist einer der bekanntesten deutschen Bildhauer und Objektkünstler seiner Generation. Seine oft aufwändig produzierten und lange geplanten skulpturalen Arbeiten entstehen durch Reflektion und Umdeutung alltäglicher Gegenstände. Es sind verblüffende, skurrile und manchmal auch humorvolle Versuchsanordnungen und Objekte, die mit der Umwelt interagieren, Räume schaffen oder sich selbst dekonstruieren. Diese transformativen Prozesse wirken ebenso konzeptuell wie poetisch und erzählen von Zeitlichkeit und Auflösung. Häufig brauchen Sailstorfers Installationen das Zusammenspiel mit dem Betrachtenden, um zu funktionieren. Seine bildhauerischen Experimente werden meist mit der Kamera dokumentiert und später dem Publikum als Videos oder Fotografien zugänglich gemacht.

Die groß angelegte Monografie MS 00 22 zeigt die wichtigsten Werke aus Sailstorfers gesamtem Schaffen. Formal unterschiedliche Texte und Gespräche mit dem Künstler geben einen fundierten Einblick in seine Arbeitsweise.

Michael Sailstorfer studierte von 1999 und 2005 bei Olaf Metzel an der Münchner Akademie der Bildenden Künste und 2004/05 am Goldsmiths College in London. Er wurde u.a. dem Kunstpreis junger westen (2011) und dem Vattenfall Contemporary (2012) ausgezeichnet. Einzelausstellungen wurden ihm u.a. in der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt (2007), der Kestnergesellschaft Hannover (2010), der Kunsthalle Nürnberg (2011) sowie dem Contemporary Arts Center in Cincinnati, Ohio (2014) ausgerichtet.

Erscheint November 2022

Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!