Silke Eva Kästner
Pantha Rhei

Author(s)

Dorothée Bauerle-Willert, Amrita Dhillon

Design

arc

Size

20 x 28,5 cm

Cover

Otabind brochure

Pages

144

Illustrations

90

Language(s)

German, English

ISBN

978-3-96912-099-6

Release October 2022

Silke Eva Kästner (lives and works in Berlin and Uckermark) developed her creative approach while traveling in India, New York, and Japan. She creates temporary on-site paintings as well as conceptual pieces in which the viewer comes upon prepared materials and becomes part of—or even alters—the picture. Kästner documents these encounters in photographs or filmic traces out of which she compiles films in the editing suite. Probing the potentials of painting as communication, she foregrounds the active intervention and process. In the gallery no less than the urban scene, Kästner places painting in relation to architecture in order to frame it in varying perspectives.

The monograph offers insight into the foci of Kästner’s art; the works are grouped in chapters rather than arranged in chronological sequence. This structure makes the book a space of experience that gives the reader a vivid sense of her ephemeral creations.

After studying with Katharina Grosse at the Weißensee School of Art and Design Berlin, Silke Eva Kästner won the Mart Stam Prize; she honed her craft in India on a NaFöG fellowship and in New York on a yearlong DAAD fellowship. Funding support from the Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa) enabled her to initiate an ongoing exchange project between Kashmir and Berlin. Her work has been on view at numerous institutions including the Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt; the Devi Art Foundation, Delhi; Berlinische Galerie, Berlin; the Queens Museum of Art, New York; Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin; and the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin.

Release October 2022

Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!

Silke Eva Kästner
Pantha Rhei

Autor(en)

Dorothée Bauerle-Willert, Amrita Dhillon

Gestaltung

arc

Maße

20 x 28,5 cm

Umschlag

Otabind-Broschur

Seitenzahl

144

Abbildungen

90

Sprache(n)

Deutsch, Englisch

ISBN

978-3-96912-099-6

Erscheint Oktober 2022

Silke Eva Kästner (lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und der Uckermark) entwickelte ihren künstlerischen Ansatz auf Reisen in Indien, New York und Japan. Neben temporären Gemälden in situ entstehen Konzepte, bei denen der/die Betrachter:in auf vorbereitetes Material trifft und dabei ein Teil des Bildes wird oder dieses sogar verändert. Dieses Zusammentreffen dokumentiert Kästner in Fotos oder Filmspuren, aus denen sie Filme editiert. Sie lotet die Möglichkeiten der Malerei als Kommunikation aus. Dabei stehen die Handlung und der Prozess im Vordergrund. Im Ausstellungsraum wie auch im Stadtraum platziert Kästner die Malerei in Relation zur Architektur, sodass sie aus verschiedenen Perspektiven erfasst werden kann.

Die Monografie gibt Einblicke in die Schwerpunkte von Kästners Arbeit, die sie ungeachtet der chronologischen Reihenfolge des Entstehens in Kapitel sortiert. Dabei wird das Buch zu einem Erfahrungsraum, der beim Blättern das Erleben der vergänglichen Arbeiten möglich macht.

Nach ihrem Studium an der Kunsthochschule Weißensee bei Katharina Grosse erhielt Silke Eva Kästner den Mart Stam Preis, das NaFöG-Stipendium führte sie nach Indien und das Jahresstipendium des DAAD nach New York. Gefördert durch das ifa initiierte sie ein andauerndes Austauschprojekt zwischen Kaschmir und Berlin. Ihre Arbeiten wurden u.a. in der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, der Devi Art Foundation, Delhi, der Berlinischen Galerie, dem Queens Museum of Art, New York, dem Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin und dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, ausgestellt.

Erscheint Oktober 2022

Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!